I’m catching up on Joy the Baker podcasts  (I know, I know, late to the game). While listening to the Boozy Susan episode, they started talking about what they listen to the kitchen. Tracy said that her mom distracts her from the task at hand when she asks questions that have nothing to do with what going on. She brought up a good point about things that annoyed us when we were younger, we have started to do ourselves. Yup, it’s true.

Case in point, I have the annoying habit of following everyone around and picking up after them. I know this about myself. I’ve tried so hard to not do it, but I just can’t. PJ and I were in the kitchen last night, cleaning up after dinner, when he turns to me and says:

PJ: ‘Thank you for being awesome.’

Me: ‘I’m not awesome.’

PJ ‘Yes, you are. Look at this kitchen. Look at the house. It wouldn’t look like this if you didn’t come behind me and fix everything.’

Me: ‘I know that annoys you and I try not to do it, but my mom did it to me.’

We are more like our parents than we realize. I’ve started to come to terms with this, and I’m ok with it. I’m still me. Take all the good stuff and leave all the bad.

