Have you ever thought about what your name means? Do you think it defines who you are? Growing up, I didn’t like my name. It didn’t feel like it was special or unique. You couldn’t make a cute nickname out of it. I had to learn to like it. It’s with you forever right? (Well, unless you change it, but who does that?) I knew many girls in high school and college with my name.

I did a search from my name. It was very popular in the mid-70s/early 80s, in case you were wondering.

Here is what you can find on my name:

It is a popular English and Scottish given name for girls. It simply means “heather” from the English word for the variety of small shrubs with pink or white flowers which commonly grow in rocky areas. It is derived from Middle English hather.[1] Heath can be used as a male given name. Heather is also a color, a light purple shade with a hint of grey. [found here]

I use to think it was weird that I was name means a small shrub. Really, who wants to be known as a small shrub? Now, I like my name. I think as we get older, our names grown onto us.

What does your name mean?

