How hard can it be? I asked myself.

Well, it turns out it can be hard, even terrifying.

I thought that at first, when I first started sitting with silence. I would do anything to fill the space. Text, get on the Internet, turn the television on. Anything.

I didn’t like it at all.

It made my mind open up.

It made me think.

It made me question.

I am still trying to become comfortable with silence. I think I have gotten better. I like falling asleep to silence. I like reading in silence. Being among silence helps me concentrate.

I seek silence out because it is comforting to me. It is where I go to unwind, to have me time.

Silence fills me up.

It makes me whole.

This is in response to Danielle LaPort’s Burning Question Series. If you would like to know more, check it out here. You won’t be sorry.

