Fate had brought her here. She knew it. She could feel it.

Shad hadn’t been to see him in a long time. She just couldn’t do it. Today was different, though. She just got in the car and drove. Turning and stopping where it felt right. That feeling led her here.

The tires of her old car crunched under the gravel as she drove through the gate. The wind felt great. The sun was shinning. ‘It’s like the prefect day’, she thought, putting on her sunglasses and parking the car.

She opened the door, swung her feet around from behind the wheel and stopped. ‘Maybe I shouldn’t be here. Maybe I should go back’, she thought, looking back at her steering wheel. But something was holding her there. She knew she had to do it.

She got out the car and closed the door. She didn’t have to walk very far to find him.

She knelt before his grave.

“I know it’s been awhile, Dave. I’m sorry,” she said.

 

For the IndieInk Writing Challenge this week, Kat challenged me with “Write about the fickle finger of fate” and I challenged Head Ant with “Writing it all down just wasn’t enough…”

