I don’t know if you have this problem (and it’s going to sound like a weird one), but sometimes I have to hard getting up and going to the bathroom. No, not like that (though that has happened a few times…hush, it happens to us all). But the actual physical act of getting to the bathroom.

Growing up, my mom was famous for this. When we were out anywhere (i.e. shopping, at a restaurant, amusement park, ect.), she would do what my family likes to call “the pee pee dance”. She would even have my sister and I do it. ‘Just wait until we get home’ or ‘We aren’t that far from home’ were her common replies. It was always embarrassing (possibly more embarrassing than her screaming my sister and I’s names out in public to try and find us). She would be standing in line somewhere then all of a sudden just have to run to the bathroom because she was standing there so long she was going to explode rather than go when the first urge hit. Or my favorite, she wouldn’t go pee because she was doing something at the time she thought was more important than using the bathroom. I never understood that.

Until now.

In high school, I hated going to the bathroom at school. One, I was scared I was going to miss something in class and hated asking people for notes (yes, this just goes to show you how much a nerd I was lol) and two, I just hated using public restrooms when in school. I would “hold it” for 6-7 hours a day. 5 DAYS A WEEK. That’s a lot of time for your bladder to be full. When I finally did use the restroom, it was awesome. Like ‘Oh my God, I just have to sit here for a minute and catch my breath’ awesome. How bad is that?

The sad part is, I’m finding that I am still doing it as an adult. I am trying to up my water intake so that means I am using the bathroom more. A few months ago, I was hit with a pretty bad UTI. Ended up going to the doctor and getting up on meds for 10 days. Since then, I have been trying to get better at using the bathroom when the urge hits. No more “pee pee dance” party here. Now, there are times at work, and play, where I have to wait a few minutes but nothing really bad and I find a bathroom right away. There are so many bad things that can happen when you don’t use the bathroom when you need to (i.e. constipation, bowel obstruction, UTI).

So, take it from me: Go when ya gotta! Don’t hold it! Oh, and please don’t forget to wash your hands. Hygiene is of the utmost importance!

