So, ever since receiving my bread machine for Christmas, I have wanted to make my own pizza dough so I could make my own pizza. Trying to be healthier and all, ya know. We decided to try our hand at it for Super Bowl Sunday.  Let me tell you, if you are able to make your own pizza, do it! It was so good.

I used this whole wheat pizza dough recipe. When using a bread machine, put the wet ingredients in first then the dry. When all the ingredients are in the machine, make a weld in the center and put your yeast. Turn it on the dough setting and let it go. So easy!

Toward the end of the dough cycle, we started preparing the sauce, veggies and chicken. For the sauce, we used a small can of tomato paste and a can of tomato sauce, threw in some herbs and sauteed until it was nice and thick. We cooked the water our of the spinach then in went the chicken. We let that cook for a little while before adding the tomatoes and mushrooms. Our roommate Courtney helped (she has a culinary degree and can COOK!). We are so lucky!

20120208-124726.jpg

While the toppings where cooking, the bread machine started beeping. Dough was done! We took the dough out and put it on a well floured cutting board. PJ then proceeded to roll it out (he’s pretty good at this….he did work at Pizza Hut, after all hehe).

20120208-124736.jpg

It came out looking like this:

We topped the pizza with our sauce, followed by mozzarella cheese, the spinach-chicken-tomato-mushroom mixture, more mozzarella cheese then feta cheese!!! Can you tell that we like cheese?

20120208-124752.jpg

In the oven it went, at 350 degrees for about 20-25 minutes. It came out looking like this:

20120208-124758.jpg

 I think we had about 11-12 servings (they were thin slices). We even had enough for lunch the next day.

I think you should make your own pizza and tell me about it!

