Hey y’all!!! Today, I am not here. It’s Vodka Girls Blog Swap. Today, y’all get to read a lovely post by the most amazing Carolina!! She is amazing!! Please enjoy her wonderful post.

For a long time I focused of the “internet” part of internet friendships. In fact, it took me a long time to get over it.

For some reason I was so caught up in the internet of it – what I somehow interpreted as fake. False. Not real.

Not like actual friends.

I treated it as if it were actual friends’ long removed and awkward cousin.

I would like to say that the moment I became friends with her, that it all changed.

But I can’t say that.

I would like to say that the moment I met the Husb, that it all changed.

But I can’t say that either.

You know the moment it changed for me?

Three months ago.

When I met her. And her. And her. And her. And her. And most recently, her. And all of the people that fill my Twitter stream and my heart.

It changed because I finally took a step back, and looked at what internet friendships meant; what they really were.

And you know what?

They’re friendships. Plain and simple.

The only difference is that now instead of being limited to my small corner of the world, I’m opened up to the entire world. Opened up to people I might otherwise never bump into. Might otherwise never meet.

And for that, I’m a special kind of grateful. The kind of grateful I imagine people were the moment they learned what electricity was and had it in their homes. Because honestly, these friendships light up my life.

They make my life richer and better and stronger and more worthwhile.

So I no longer uncomfortably focus on the “internet” part of internet friendships.

Instead, I’m grateful. To the point of tears in my eyes and warmth in my heart.

Thank you for changing my world – for lighting it up.

