Tuesday 4 October 2011 begins the Girl Effect Blogging Campaign, which is aimed at raising awareness about the challenges faced by young girls in the developing world.  And not just any young girls, but the 50 million 12-year-old girls who live in poverty and are at high risk of being forced into marriage, bearing children while they themselves are still children, then being sold into sexual slavery and probably contracting HIV.

I could try to explain The Girl Effect in words, but this video says it all in just 3 minutes.  Please watch it.

I look around and can’t help but feel  fortunate and blessed to be a woman in this country. Many young girls do not have the option. They cannot look out their front door and see the possibilities that are before them. Growing up, I was that little girl who could not wait to go to school. I would wake up extra early in the morning just to make the morning go by faster so I could get to school. I love learning. I am thankful that my parents pushed me to do well in school. I graduated high school and went to college. I graduated from college and am even thinking about going back to school. Many girls around the word are not that lucky.

Approximately one-quarter of girls in developing
countries are not in school.
(Cynthia B. Lloyd, ed., Growing Up Global: The Changing Transitions to Adulthood in Developing
Countries [Washington, D.C.: National Academies Press, 2005].)
Out of the world’s 130 million out-of-school youth,
70 percent are girls.
(Human Rights Watch, “Promises Broken: An Assessment of Children’s Rights on the 10th Anniversary
of the Convention on the Rights of the Child,” http://www.hrw.org/campaigns/crp/promises/education.
html [December 1999].)

Let’s make a difference. Let’s stand up and fight for girls would cannot do it for themselves.

Learn more about the Girl Effect here.

Want to get involved? Lend your voice to the Girl Effect campaign

Write a post between 4-11th October. You can sign up to the blogging campaign here: http://www.taramohr.com/girleffectposts/ and add your link to the page.

Spread the word: Share on facebook and twitter. You can use the hashtag #girleffect

